Launch of the 2022 Inner Temple Book Prize

Sponsored by Wildy & Sons Limited

Patron: HRH The Princess Royal KG KT GCVO QSO

The Inner Temple is delighted to announce the delayed official launch of the fifth of its distinguished triennial Book Prize, the first having been awarded in 2008 with the aspiration that it would become, by value and prestige, an internationally recognised mark of outstanding excellence in legal scholarship as well as assisting in the public awareness of the role of law in society. The Inner Temple Book Prize is intended to recognise and to encourage the writing of books which make an outstanding contribution to the understanding of law as administered in England and Wales.

There will be two main prizes. The winner of the Main Prize will be awarded £12,000 and each of the other shortlisted candidates £500. The winner of the New Authors Prize will receive £5,000 and any other short-listed candidates £300.

For further details

Notes to Editors

The first Book Prize was awarded in 2008 as part of the Inn’s celebrations to mark the 400th anniversary of the grant of the Temple’s Royal Charter by James I of England and VI of Scotland. The Royal Charter lays down in perpetuity the Inn’s responsibilities to practise and to teach the law.

Past Book Prize winners include:

2018 Professor Paul S. Davies - Accessory Liability Hart Publishing
2015 Alan Paterson – Final Judgment: The Last Law Lord and the Supreme Court Hart Publishing
2011 Paul Halliday – Habeas Corpus Harvard University Press

Past New Author Prizes include:

2018 Dr Jason Varuhas - Damages and Human Rights Hart Publishing
2015 Claire Fenton-Glynn – Children’s Rights in Intercountry Adoption Intersentia
2011 Tom Hickman – Public Law after the Human Rights Act Hart Publishing

Judging Panel

Chaired by The Rt Hon Sir Bernard Rix, the judging panel comprises distinguished Governing, Honorary and Academic Benchers of The Inner Temple

For further details about the Prize please contact Celia Pilkington at