Inner Temple Book Prize 2022

Sponsored by Wildy & Sons Limited

Patron: HRH The Princess Royal KG KT GCVO QSO

The Inner Temple is delighted to announce the winners for the fifth of its triennial Book Prizes. The first having been awarded in 2008 as part of the Inn’s celebrations to mark the 400th anniversary of the grant by James I of the Temple’s Royal Charter. 

The Prizes are intended to recognise and to encourage the writing of books which make an outstanding contribution to the understanding of law as administered in England and Wales. The long term aim of the Prize is to affirm the Inn’s commitment to legal scholarship and to the training of lawyers both now and in the future.

This year the book prize received 65 entries which were assessed by our expert reviewers and distinguished judging panel chaired by The Rt Hon Sir Bernard Rix with:

Professor Sir John Baker KC LLD FBA
The Rt Hon Lord Justice Dingemans
The Rt Hon Sir Patrick Elias
The Rt Hon Dame Elizabeth Gloster DBE
Her Excellency Dame Rosalyn Higgins GBE KC JSD FBA
Nigel Pleming KC
The Rt Hon Lord Justice Popplewell
Professor Cheryl Thomas KC (Hon)
Professor Leslie Thomas KC

The Winners

This year the Judging Panel are delighted to announce that the winner of its £12,000 Main Book Prize is to be shared between two authors, both from the London School of Economics, Professor Jo Braithwaite for her book The Financial Courts: Adjudicating Disputes in Derivatives Markets published by Cambridge University Press (CUP) and Professor Neil Duxbury for his book The Intricacies of Dicta and Dissent also published by CUP.

The New Author's Prize has been won by Joanna Bell for her book The Anatomy of Administrative Law, Hart Publishing.

The two runners up for the main prize and two runners up for the New Author’s prize are:

Main Prize Runners-Up

Professor Richard Helmholz: The Profession of Ecclesiastical Lawyers: An Historical Introduction
Cambridge University Press

Professor N.W. Barber: The Principles of Constitutionalism
Oxford University Press

New Author's Prize Runners-Up

Joshua Hitchens and Niamh Daly: Forced Marriage Law and Practice

Dr Richard Martin: Policing Human Rights: Law, Narratives and Practice
Oxford University Press

For further details about the prize please contact Celia Pilkington.

Celia Pilkington


Celia Pilkington


Celia Pilkington