Past Winners

2022 Book Prize

Main Prize £12,000 winners

  • Professor Jo Braithwaite - The Financial Courts: Adjudicating Disputes in Derivatives Markets, Cambridge University Press (CUP)
    Professor Braithwaite is a Professor of international commercial finance law at LSE
  • Professor Neil Duxbury The Intricacies of Dicta and Dissent, CUP
    Professor Duxbury is a Professor of English Law at LSE

New Authors £5,000 Winner

  • Joanna Bell The Anatomy of Administrative Law, Hart Publishing
    Joanna is Associate Professor of Law at the University of Oxford.

Main Prize Shortlisted

  • Professor Richard Helmholz - The Profession of Ecclesiastical Lawyers: An Historical Introduction, Cambridge University Press
  • Professor N.W. Barber - The Principles of Constitutionalism, Oxford University Press

New Authors Prize Shortlisted

  • Joshua Hitchens and Niamh Daly - Forced Marriage Law and Practice, Bloomsbury

  • Dr Richard Martin - Policing Human Rights: Law, Narratives and Practice, Oxford University Press

2018 Book Prize

Main Prize £12,000 winner

  • Professor Paul S. Davies - Accessory Liability Hart Publishing

    Professor Davies is Professor of Commercial Law at UCL.

New Authors £5,000 Winner

  • Dr Jason Varuhas - Damages and Human Rights Hart Publishing

    Dr Varuhas is a Professor of Law at Melbourne University.

Main Prize Shortlisted

  • Dr Jason Pobjoy - The Child in Refugee Law Cambridge University Press

  • Professor William Schabas - The European Convention on Human Rights Oxford University Press

  • Professor Alison Young - Democratic Dialogue and the Constitution Oxford University Press

New Authors Prize Shortlisted

  • Dr Kate Greasley - Arguments about Abortion: Personhood, Morality and Law Oxford University Press

  • Dr Sandy Steel - Proof of Causation in Tort Law Cambridge University Press

2015 Book Prize

Main Prize £12,000 winner

  • Alan Paterson – Final Judgment : The Last Law Lord and the Supreme Court Hart Publishing

New Authors £5,000 Winner

  • Claire Fenton-Glynn – Children’s Rights in Intercountry Adoption Intersentia

Main Prize Shortlisted

  • Professor Neil Andrews – Andrews on Civil Processes Intersentia
  • Professor Adrian Briggs – Private International Law in the English Courts OUP
  • Emily Jackson – Law and the Regulation of Medicine Hart Publishing
  • Tony Prosser – The Economic Constitution OUP

New Authors Prize Shortlisted

  • Solene Rowan – Remedies for Breach of Contract OUP

2011 Book Prize

Main Prize Winner

  • Paul Halliday – Habeas Corpus Harvard University Press

New Author's Prize Winner

  • Tom Hickman – Public Law after the Human Rights Act Hart Publishing

Main Prize Shortlisted

  • Richard Gardiner – Treaty Interpretation OUP
  • Julian Rivers – The Law of Organised Religion: Between Establishment and secularism OUP
  • Richard Barnes – Property Rights and Natural Resources Hart Publishing
  • Sarah Green and John Randall – The Tort of Conversion Hart Publishing

New Author's Prize Shortlisted

  • Robin Hickey Property and the Law of Finders Hart Publishing