Death Notices

Inner Temple

Leonard Woodley QC, Master of the Bench, sadly died on Sunday 19 January. The Inn's flag flew at half-mast on Wednesday 22 January in his memory. Details of any funeral and/or memorial service will be circulated as appropriate in due course.

Professor Sir Roger Scruton FBA FRSL, Master of the Bench, sadly died on Sunday 12 January. The Inn’s flag flew at half-mast on Monday 13 January in his memory. Details of any funeral and/or memorial service will be circulated as appropriate in due course.

Middle Temple

Ms Patricia Edwards, Bencher of Middle Temple, sadly passed away on Friday 24 January 2020, aged 75. Details of a memorial service will be circulated as appropriate in due course.

Ian Macdonald QC, Senior Bencher of Middle Temple, sadly passed away recently, aged 80. Details of any funeral and/or memorial service will be circulated as appropriate in due course.

The Rt Hon Edward Zacca KCMG OJ PC, Honorary Bencher of Middle Temple, sadly died on Monday 11 November, aged 88, after a long illness. Details of any funeral and/or memorial service will be circulated as appropriate in due course.

David Evans QC, Senior Bencher of Middle Temple, sadly died on Saturday 9 November, aged 75, after a long battle with cancer. Details of any funeral and/or memorial service will be circulated as appropriate in due course.

The Rt Hon Lord Nicholls of Birkenhead, Treasurer of Middle Temple in 1997, sadly died on Wednesday 25 September, aged 85. A memorial service will take place at 5.45pm on Thursday 30 April 2020 in The Temple Church, followed by a reception in Middle Temple Hall.

Gray's Inn

His Honour William Birtles,  Bencher of Gray's Inn, sadly died on Wednesday 15 January. Further details will be made available when known.

Gordon Pollock, Bencher of Gray's Inn.
A celebration of the life of the late Gordon Pollock will be held at The Great Hall, Lincoln's Inn on Tuesday 31 March 2020 at 6.30pm. All are welcome to attend.