Death Notices

Inner Temple

The Rt Hon the Lord Hutton, Master of the Bench, sadly died on Tuesday 14 July.. The Inn's flag flew at half-mast on Friday, 17 July, in his memory. Details of any memorial service will be circulated as appropriate in due course.

Sir Richard Plender, Master of the Bench, sadly died on Saturday 23 May. The Inn's flag flew at half-mast on Wednesday, 3 June, in his memory. Details of any memorial service will be circulated as appropriate in due course. 

The Rt Hon the Lord Armstrong of Ilminster GCB CVO, Master of the Bench, sadly died on Friday 3 April. The Inn's flag flew at half-mast on Wednesday, 20 April, in his memory. Details of any memorial service will be circulated as appropriate in due course.

The Rt Hon Sir John Laws, Treasurer of The Inner Temple in 2010,  sadly died on Sunday 5 April. The Inn’s flag flew at half-mast on Wednesday, 8 April, in his memory. It is hoped that a memorial service will be arranged in the Temple Church in due course.

His Honour David Elfer QC, Master of the Bench, sadly died on Tuesday 31 March. The Inn’s flag flew at half-mast on Tuesday 7 April, in his memory. A Service of Thanksgiving will be held later in the year and details will be circulated as appropriate in due course.

His Honour Roderick Denyer QC, Master of the Bench, sadly died on the weekend of 14 March. The Inn's flag flew at half-mast on Friday 20 March in his memory. Details of any funeral and/or memorial service will be circulated as appropriate in due course. 

Johnny Veeder QC, Master of the Bench, sadly died on Sunday 8 March. The Inn's flag flew at half-mast on Wednesday 11 March in his memory. His funeral will be family only. A concert of thanksgiving is planned to focus on music and life, the date of which will be circulated as soon as known. 

The Rt Hon Sir Andrew Leggatt, Master of the Bench, sadly died on Friday 21 February. The Inn's flag flew at half-mast on Tuesday 25 February in his memory. The family have decided that Master Leggatt would not have wanted any memorial service and therefore have decided not to hold one.

Chief Justice Yong Pung How, Master of the Bench, sadly passed away on Thursday 9 January. The Inn's flag flew at half-mast on Tuesday 11 February in his memory.

His Honour Mervyn Roberts, Master of the Bench, sadly passed away on Sunday 2 February. The Inn's flag flew at half-mast on Tuesday 4 February in his memory. Details of any funeral and/or memorial service will be circulated as appropriate in due course.

Lady Brown (Patricia), wife of former Treasurer (1994) The Rt Hon Sir Stephen Brown GBE, has sadly passed away.

Leonard Woodley QC, Master of the Bench, sadly died on Sunday 19 January. The Inn's flag flew at half-mast on Wednesday 22 January in his memory. Details of any funeral and/or memorial service will be circulated as appropriate in due course.

Professor Sir Roger Scruton FBA FRSL, Master of the Bench, sadly died on Sunday 12 January. The Inn’s flag flew at half-mast on Monday 13 January in his memory. Details of any funeral and/or memorial service will be circulated as appropriate in due course.

Gray's Inn

Conrad Dehn QC, Bencher of Gray's Inn, sadly died on Sunday 26 April. Further details will be made available when known.

His Honour William Birtles,  Bencher of Gray's Inn, sadly died on Wednesday 15 January. Further details will be made available when known.

Gordon Pollock, Bencher of Gray's Inn. A celebration of the life of the late Gordon Pollock being held at The Great Hall, Lincoln's Inn on Tuesday 31 March has been postponed until 27 October 2020 at 6.30pm. All are welcome to attend.

Lincoln's Inn

The Lord Lester of Herne Hill QC, Bencher of Lincoln's Inn, sadly died on Saturday 8 August, at the age of 84.

Michael Driscoll QC, Bencher of Lincoln's Inn, sadly died on Monday 22 June, at the age of 73. 

John Mathews QC, Bencher of Lincoln's Inn, sadly died on Tuesday 18 February, at the age of 92. 

Middle Temple

His Honour Judge Stuart Nigel Bridge, Bencher of Middle Temple, sadly passed away on 12 September, aged 62. Details of any funeral and/or memorial service will be circulated as appropriate in due course.

Joanna Dodson QC, Bencher of Middle Temple, sadly passed away on peacefully on 23 August, aged 75. Details of any funeral and/or memorial service will be circulated as appropriate in due course.

Simon Kverndal QC, Bencher of Middle Temple, sadly passed away peacefully on Sunday 14 June , aged 62. Details of any funeral and/or memorial service will be circulated as appropriate in due course.

Sir Victor Glover GOSK, Honorary Bencher of Middle Temple, sadly passed away peacefully on Sunday 2 February , aged 87. Details of any funeral and/or memorial service will be circulated as appropriate in due course.

Ms Patricia Edwards, Bencher of Middle Temple, sadly passed away on Friday 24 January , aged 75. A Memorial Service will be held in her honour on Monday 11 May at 5.45pm in The Temple Church followed by drinks in Middle Temple Hall.

Ian Macdonald QC, Senior Bencher of Middle Temple, sadly passed away recently, aged 80. Details of a memorial service will be circulated as appropriate in due course.